BOUNCE: *NEW* Energy Bites!

October has been one of the coolest months in our Bennett household. I have been one of the first to sample – then review – interesting foods, from staples, to snacks, to superfoods, to spreads. On occasion, a brand bounces back with something new. Today’s Something New is from Bounce, makers and creators of my adored Bounce Balls, and yet this is my fifth post on their cheerfully packaged, protein-fuelled balls of goodness.

First, second and third time reviews shone a spotlight on the Classic Bounce Ball, larger, nibbly balls that aim to keep you going through things like rock climbing, long bike rides, hikes, runs, long stints in the gym or simply a long day at work. You were introduced to what is probably the favourite food of my life to date, the Spirulina and Ginseng Bounce Ball that fully deserved a review of its own.

One year on from my first review of the mixed box, I tried Bounce Bites; far smaller, disc-shaped bites available in all-for-me 30g mini packs or generous, perfect-for-sharing 90g bags. Some were great, some were okay, all were nibbly, nobbly and crunchy! Following, much to my delight, came one of each of the new V Life Balls. These were less predictably focused upon life’s magical ingredients, things such as fragrant cumin, amino-acid-laden spirulina and energy-boosting, stress-reducing ginseng. Fabulously, they are full-size balls of protein-boosting goodness that offer something different from the norm should you fancy a change from the Classic Bounce, many of which are still available (except Spirulina and Ginseng, but we shall not talk about that!).

So now we alternate once more – or perhaps not once more, but once more for this year at least – for the Good People of Bounce HQ have sent revamped versions of two of their familiar Bounce Bites varieties and completely replaced one variety with a new creation! Without opening the pack, I can see immediate differences but what of the taste, texture and overall pleasure upon the taste buds?

 Bounce All 1.jpg

Ringing the changes

The Good People of Bounce needn’t have told me their recipe had changed as these are hugely, hugely different, and not just visually. I must briefly mention the shape however, as although I adored the former little disclings that stacked as beautifully as boxes, the move to misshapen inch-size balls is actually very clever.

Christmas. There – I’ve said it. In October.

What do you see lining every festive sweet aisle and adorning every posh petit fours selection? Truffles, by the truff load. What do healthy people – or anyone caught up with 21st century – dread within the chocolate selection? Truffles. Until now…!

All 3
‘Truffle, Madam?’ I know what I will be disguising as chocolate on Eat-Too-Much Day!

I expect changes to be vast, which shall be reviewed as I open each pack. To summarise, these are my initial observations upon breaking open one Bite:

Cacao 1
Disclings Out with the old…

The Shape

  • 2016: Disc-lings, about an inch and a half across.
  • 2017: Spheres, still about the same size.

The Makeup

  • 2016: Nuts, fruit, cacao nibs (sometimes), whey protein, brown rice syrup
  • 2017: Pretty much the same, perhaps with more sunflower seeds

The Texture

  • 2016: Nibbly. Very, very nibbly. And crunchy.
  • 2017: Smoooooth. Still the odd nibbly bit where sunflower seeds slipped through the squasher.

The Flavour

  • 2016: A mixed bag; Cacao Orange – fabulous. The other two… not bad, but not bought since.
  • 2017: TBC

 

Cacao_Orange.pngCacao Orange

Mature in flavour, and smooth as a whipped nut butter, these no-longer-nibbly, generous balls of chocolatey orange are really one of a kind. Bounce HQ have recreated the flavour of their standard Cacao Orange ball in truffle form, minus the calories of a truffle, minus the bumpy bits of my favourite disclings of last autumn and actually with good reason.

 

Firstly, the suggested serving of three Bites is just right; sufficiently filling, energy-bringing and a slow-releaser of energy. The orange oil is distinctive, in a good way, the prominent flavour against a cocoa-rich, creamy backdrop. The standard Bounce Ball – and last year’s similar mini disclings – taste mature too, but with more emphasis upon the bitter cacao with all those crunchy nibs to offer that textural intricacy and satisfying crunch.

Cacao Orange – 2017 Cacao Orange – 2016
Brown rice syrup

Date paste

Whey protein isolate (from milk)

Almond butter

Cashew butter

Sunflower seeds

Coconut flour

Cocoa powder

Tapioca fibre

Natural flavourings

Coconut oil

Green tea extract

Cashews

Cranberries

Sunflower Seeds

Whey protein concentrate (from milk)

Sultanas

Cacao nibs

Currants

Gluten free grain dextrins (from brown rice)

Whey protein isolate (from milk)

Rice flour, water, cacao powder, cacao butter, natural orange flavour

Soya lecithin (emulsifier), vegetable oil

Do you see it? Do you see what I see? Complete change!

Cacao 2

The aforementioned good reason for overhaul has resulted in what I would consider a far sweeter Bounce Bite. I would be interested to hear whether anyone else found the same. Nonetheless, the nutritional information indicates a reduction in calories, whopping 20%+ reduction in fat (and almost half the saturates!), near-double the fibre and a little less salt. A-ma-zing!

Cacao 4

Alongside the Sweet and Salty Almond Bites, I shall show a direct comparison between the nutrition of last year’s crunchy and this year’s smooth Bites. For now, I remain stunned by the difference in ingredients yet remarkably similar flavour – how? How???

I like these but do find myself missing the crunch, despite the occasional bits of chewy sunflower seed. Would I have them again? Yes… especially disguising themselves as truffles within the big box of chocolates at Christmas!

 

Blueberry Banana

It is fair to say the new Purple Ones, Blueberry Banana, have caused quite a stir on social media. Hundreds guessed the flavour (incorrectly), partly because many of us assumed the V Life range, yet to be so victorious as to have a ‘Bites’ range named after them, might be the ones to be reincarnated as what was revealed to be something to share.

Blueberry 2

The leading ingredients – date paste, brown rice syrup, whey protein isolate – are fairly commonplace across the Bounce range. However, sunflower seeds (which I adore!), coconut flour, dried banana pieces and blueberry powder are less common, no, entirely new. Yet the banana, modest at 5%, and blueberry at just 4% are probably pretty subtle alongside all the dates, seeds and coconut. Aren’t they?

Blueberry 1Imagine walking into an old-fashioned sweet shop, opening a jar of boiled sweets and inhaling deeply; cutting open the pack, a similarly sweet, sweet smell fills my nostrils. These are unlike anything that has gone before in the Bounce world, almost as though they have been designed as a superfood treat for the sweet lover and health food sceptic as disguised within each bite are excellent ingredients whizzed together to taste remarkably like fruit salad chews! The banana is really intense too, a far cry from the 5%, and near-concentrated in flavour.

Blueberry 3
Sweet shop These look the part… but are too sweet and banana-ey for me

I must point out the good bits: all Bounce Balls Bites and V Life Balls are good for you. They are made from superb ingredients, are sufficiently filling, benefit your energy levels, offer tons of protein and are addictively flavoursome! It’s just… these. On the surface, they fit the mould but I’m sorry to say I can’t see these hanging around in the long term. If they are your first experience of Bounce and you find them too sweet, do try a different Ball or Bite. Cacao Orange – in either chobbly, crunchy Ball form or smooth truffle-like Bite form – is the perfect place to begin, especially as oranges and spice are starting to appear in the lead up to Christmas.

 

Sweet and Salty Almond

Now, these are more like it! Aromas of the very best baking, plus overtones of a good amaretto, quite like the filling of a Bakewell tart, set my mind to Excited Mode. There are few things more appealing to me than a pastry-less, gluten free Bakewell tart. Mm, mm, mmm!

Almond 1

I remember last time’s Bites vividly. There was not enough salt to constitute the description Sweet and Salty, unlike this time. Without being too salty, not only are the flavours balanced nicely, the texture is light, almost whipped.

Contrary to my love of crunch, I prefer these by miles. Very few ingredients make up the creamy, surprisingly healthy Bites:

  • Brown rice syrup
  • Date paste
  • Whey protein isolate (from milk) 14%
  • Almond butter 12%
  • Cashew butter
  • Coconut flour
  • Tapioca fibre
  • Natural flavourings
  • Coconut oil
  • Sea salt
  • Green tea extract
Nutrition Per 100g – ‘16 Per 100g – ‘17 Per serving – ‘16 Per serving – ‘17
Calories 418 401 125 120
Fat (saturates) 21g (2.2g) 16g (3.5g) 6.3g (0.7g) 4.8g (1g)
Carbs (sugars) 38g (26g) 40.6g (32.9g) 11g (7.8g) 12.2g (9.9g)
Fibre 5.7g 7.1g 1.7g 2.1g
Protein 22g 20.1g 6.6g 6g
Salt 0.8g 0.28g 0.2g 0.09g

Mixed reviews online there may be, but I would definitely enjoy these dusted gems again!These really are nutritionally amazing – you wouldn’t get one white chocolate almond truffle for 4.8g fat / 1g saturates, for which you get three – three! – of these. They satisfy my sweet cravings and fill me up enough to enable me to leave the packet well alone until the evening, at which point I cannot resist an almond ‘truffle’ with my coffee!

Almond 2
The perfect truffle A light, almond-rich, sweet, salty treat!

 

What Bite happen next?

I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist! (insert laugh-until-you-cry emoji here)

Let’s get the negative bits out the way: The Good People of Bounce HQ know I adore them and know I adore their delicious wares, however… I am sorry to say I predict the Blueberry Banana to be short lived. But let’s look on the bright side – a new flavour can be whipped up in the spooky cauldron of Very Delicious and Marvellous Things! What about Spiced Pumpkin, as per Bounce HQ’s trick or treat posts this Hallows Eve? A treat that would be for my tum, that’s for sure!

Spooky Pumpkin.png
Spooky Bounce! Sadly not for real, however I shall be insistent upon a pumpkin reality!

I mentioned before the alcoholic overtone, which I actually sensed across all three. My theory is ‘natural flavourings’ are to be held responsible. Whenever I eat a Nakd bar I feel the same menthol-like wisp in my food pipe and Nakd bars all contain natural flavourings!

On to the good: I enjoyed the Cacao Orange and Sweet and Salty Almond Bites very much. They definitely feel like an indulgence rather than the healthy protein Balls and Bites of yesteryear but contain less of the bad and more of the good. It’s baffling!

What do you think? Which is your favourite Bounce treat to date? These were good… but still, for me, Coconut Cumin V Life is at the top with Spirulina Ginseng (yes, I know they are extinct!), with Cacao Orange and Cacao Mint – in fact Apple Cinnamon and Coconut Lemon Classics too – all level in reserve. I’m a sucker for texture, so the Bites shall be saved for fake truffle action throughout those overindulgent Christmas days!

 

Where to buy

Bounce HQ: Yes, you can buy direct from the Wizards Who Create – just follow this link! They also have clever consciences, putting together this brilliant post on 12 Uses for the Bounce Ball!

Holland and Barrett: A shop full of highly delicious things, including most of the Classic Bounce, V Life and Bounce Bites. Why not supplement your Bounce order with some Figlets? Honestly, they’re heart-wrenchingly gorgeous! Free delivery on a spend of £20+

Boots: Online and in some stores, you will find a moderate variety of Classics and Bites… if you’re quick!

Waitrose: Quite a good range of Bounce Balls, plus the world wide web is littered with offers of £20 off your first Waitrose shop. Minimum spend is £60 for free delivery, quite high but you are then stocked up on your groceries without the need to sit in traffic.

Ocado: Much like Waitrose, with highly appealing offers of discounted Bounce Bites right now plus £30 off your first shop – search via Google and grab those discounts!

Leave a comment